Stop right there!
You might be deleting more than just names on a list.
Let’s take a detailed look at what happens when you’ve maxed out your number of free subscribers on Mailchimp—and why it’s important not to hit that “delete” button.
It’s so tempting to simply delete old lists, groups of contacts, or perhaps those contacts who have previously unsubscribed. It can also apply to duplicates, outdated addresses, or inactive contacts—anyone who doesn’t interact with your campaigns. But deleting contacts actually causes them to show up as “anonymous.” Plus, you’ll lose of the data associated with that user, and you’ll never be allowed to add that contact back to that list if future circumstances call for it.
So what should you do instead?
Instead, we recommend you archive your contact list. When you archive contacts, they are placed in a completely separate, untouchable archived list. This list won’t be visible to you, meaning you won’t be able to edit their profile and they won’t receive any email campaigns. However, if you’d like those contacts back at some point, you can unarchive them without losing any important data.
With the archive feature, you get to keep your analytics and data, allowing you to retain information about the contact and your campaign reports.
Bonus: archived contacts don’t count toward your billing! So, you’ll keep your list to a minimum and still maintain invaluable information that you can use for tracking and marketing purposes.
And how do you archive your Mailchimp contacts?
This short video tutorial will walk you through how to archive your Mailchimp contacts.
For further instructions, check out Mailchimp’s handy guide on how to archive and unarchive your contacts.